Styrofoam and Social Media

March 4, 2010 at 1:56 am (Assignments) (, , )

Twenty years ago (possibly even less) marketing terms like brand and branding would have only applied to business but, with the constant changing of technology (social media specifically) these terms have evolved to include people too. Students like you and me are now a brand and our online presence is helping to shape that.

In the realm of social media I like to think of myself as ‘modernly old-school,’ I approach these sites with cautious resistance. This could be both a good and a bad thing. The good thing is that my brand is closely controlled by me; I am not where I don’t want me to be. The bad thing is that I am difficult to find, my future employers could think that I’m trying to hide something, I’m not. 

Now let’s move on to the important stuff!

 The Benefits of Social Media:

 1.Networking.  Two websites, New Media Hire and Partner Technology; cite Linkedin as the best tool for networking. The fantastic thing about the internet, social media, and networking is that there are different venues for presenting your brand. For instance, myspace has been used for artists, photographers, musicians, and other content creators (New Media Hire).

 2. Relationships. I’ve been reading about several ways of implementing social media into my internship and the fantastic thing about this ‘new’ form of communication is that it opens up a dialogue between company and customer. Companies are using blogs and other on-line media as ways of building mutually beneficial relationships with their clients.

 3. Job postings. Twitter is becoming a big outlet for job ad distribution (New Media Hire).  Hiring managers have turned to these microblogging sites so they don’t have to weed through so many resumes (Partner Technology). Less resumes means a better chance for you!

 4. Know before you go. Social networking sites afford a unique opportunity to see what’s important to the company that you’re applying for. My dad takes me to a lot of his company stuff to ‘trophy me off’, before we get there I like knowing a little info about the key people at the table. Boss to the left is a University of Florida Alum, we chit chat about those things. (Keep up with the news). You want to go into your meeting with people so that “they know that you roll like a boss” (This is what one of my boss’s told me while I was preparing for a Familiarization tour)

 The Negatives of Social Media:

1.Think Styrofoam.  Styrofoam takes forever to breakdown, in fact it never decomposes! (ways2gogreen.com) Think of what you post online like Styrofoam, it won’t go away as easily as you think it will. Jeff Lipshultz’s Blog discusses this a little more.

While looking for more information on the ills of social media I came across this PowerPoint that I thought was extremely informative and creative in its explanation of social networking.

Here is the link to the powerpoints creator Ms. Annalaura Brown.

7 Comments

  1. marielorelei said,

    I completely understand your comment about taking a more cautious stance when embarking on new social media territories. I believe that it’s helpful to use social media technologies but it’s important not to become consumed by them.

    I found your comment about future employers thinking that the fact that you are hard to find on the internet to be a tactic to keep yourself hidden to be quite interesting. Where have we gone wrong in society that not being able to locate information about someone on the internet is a bad thing? It’s a sad thing when privacy is looked at with suspicion. Any future employers should be able to understand that a person needs their lives to have some level of containment. The whole world doesn’t need to know what happens in your world.

  2. Practicum Blog Comments (25) « Life as a Dreamer said,

    […]  Styrofoam and Social Media by Shannon […]

  3. laur22 said,

    I consider myself relatively old-school when it comes to social media as well! While I have an Ipod and a cell phone, that is about as technical as I get. I would much rather be outside playing than working on the computer. I do not mind getting online from time to time, but I am pretty outgoing and talk way too much. I can not channel this easily through writing. It seems that social media is here to stay so I am going to have to suck it up and join everyone else. I find that it can be complicated, and that is one of the main reasons I do not want to use it. Oh well!

    • smcclou3 said,

      I completely understand where you are coming from. There’s so much out there and it comes so quickly that it overwhelms us. Also, all of this technology is so time consuming, learning about the applications, applying the applications, and then just spending time on those websites. As much as I love technology I do love the separation time I create for myself, for instance; no facebook during the summer, if I want to talk with a person I call or text. It would be better if more of our society were like you, enjoying the outdoors, appreciating outdoor games. It’s through these activities that we develop some of the most fulfilling friendships.

  4. My Blog Comments- 3711 « Lauren's PR Blog for Beginners said,

    […] “Styrofoam and Social Media” by Shannon […]

  5. kris10ly said,

    Hi Shannon! The tips you provided about social media are very interesting and informative. Social media is being used more and more in businesses/organizations. As you mentioned, “…it opens up a dialogue between company and customer.” Through this, customers are getting the chance to have a voice by offering constructive feedback. Customer relations has increasingly become the focus for companies, because it helps them to positively improve their business. Before social media, it made it more difficult for companies to measure customer satisfaction. Social media has forever changed the way for companies and individuals. I look forward to seeing what the future has in store. Thanks for the great tips!

  6. Blog Comments « Kris10ly's Professional Makeover said,

Leave a Reply

