Hula and Interning… A Lot More In Common Than You Would Expect

February 13, 2010 at 5:44 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

Two men from Ke Kai O Kahiki

Ever since I returned from my holiday in Hawaii I’ve been trying to bring bits of paradise here to the cold, brown, mainland. To do this I’ve been trying to find as much information as I can about hula.

I bet you’re wondering how the hula kahiko (ancient hula) applies to an internship? It does just trust me and follow along.

The other day I had a little breakdown at work. Telling two of my co-workers (not my boss) that I absolutely hated Atlanta and even the state of Georgia; it’s cold, brown, and dead. I miss, even crave my green, tropical climates (Florida, Hawai’i). I have voiced how much I dislike the city that I’m in, it’s actually a love/hate relationship[, part of the time I love it and am excited to be here, other times I can’t stand it and wish it would blow away (it can’t fall into an ocean since it’s not near one, real convenient Atlanta, real convenient).

So, after I made myself look like an idiot and an unfortunately ungrateful intern (on the contrary, I’m thankful for the place, people, experiences I’m being afforded) my mind was jogged back to two hula proverbs that I had stumbled upon in my studies.

“E nana, e ho’olohe. E pa’a ka waha, e hana ka lima”

Watch, listen. Keep the mouth closed, and the hands busy. One learns by listening and observing. Ask questions only after you’ve tried to figure out something yourself.

I had realized what I was doing wrong. I was listening, observing, and working, but I hadn’t keep my mouth shut, or silenced my fears to allow all of the knowledge that my teachers have to be trying to give me, therefore, making me unreceptive to lesson.

There, tied in hula and interning. See, it wasn’t so bad.

Also, With Lent just a few days away I have chosen not necessarily give up complaining, but act with humility, give my new home a chance and follow “E nana, e ho’olohe. E pa’a ka waha, e hana ka lima”

Side note, I think apart of the pre-internship process, both the student and professor should discuss the adjustment process of relocating. I love where I work, but the adjustment to a new environment has been quite a challenge.

10 Comments

  1. marielorelei said,

    Wow it’s so cool that you got to spend time living in Hawaii. I hear it’s beautiful there. I lived in Jamaica for the first half of my life and I definitely miss the island atmosphere. Giving up complaining for Lent is a great idea. I think it would be great if people gave up such things for Lent, rather than giving up eating certain food items. There is plenty to learn from giving up anything for Lent, but giving up something like the bad habit of complaining is a commendable choice. I hope that you learned a lot in the process and learned something important from the experience.

    • smcclou3 said,

      I appologize for the miss understanding when I said I “lived” in Hawaii. I spent two weeks there with my Godparents. I used the term “lived” because while I did some touristy things, like luau’sandhiking Diamond Head theentire holiday was not a tourist get away. E morning I would ride with my GodMom my God sister off at school and every afteroon to pick her up. I justdid the normal everydaystuff, likewalking the dog, cleaning the dishes,babysitting.
      What part of Jamaica, I would love to go there? What are some in the know type of things to do there? Oh yeah, it really helped the internship go by, I killed me some sugar during Lent. I’ve neverreally given up stuff, just added things, like fasting, more prayer or intense exercise.

  2. Practicum Blog Comments (11) « Life as a Dreamer said,

    […] Hula and Interning… A Lot More In Common Than You Would Expect by Shannon […]

  3. matidmore said,

    This was such an interesting and fun post, i have the same feelings towards Georgia, half the time it’s awesome the other half I wish I was home in Florida. I feel that it is always important to make best in your situation so that you can enjoy it. it is also important to realize who you are talking to or it could get back to bit you. I was having a discussion the other day with a family friend that works for a bank loaning out cars to companies and she was telling me to always be cautious when talking to coworkers because you can never tell who you can trust and who you cant, but when you find the good ones they will be friends for life.

    • smcclou3 said,

      I’m glad that you enjoyed it. What part of Florida from? Thankfully, I live on the border (Thomasville); I’m in Tallahassee everyday. While it was really difficult at times I always felt that this was the best choice for my internship. When I have to relocate for my career, I’ll be better able to handle it because I’ve already relocated to an unfamiliar place and without friends. I totally agree with you about whom you can speak to at work.

  4. Blog Comments « Tidmore’s Ideas said,

    […] 9. Hula and interning by McCloud, Shannon , blog […]

  5. laur22 said,

    I am so jealous that you got to spend time in Hawaii! It sounds like you had a great time and learned many different things that will help you in your career. I really liked the hula proverbs you learned, especially “E nana, e ho’olohe. E pa’a ka waha, e hana ka lima.” It is neat that the same basic rules and philosophies we follow are apparent in other cultures as well. I am from Ohio, and I think of Georgia as a sort of paradise compared to where I used to live! I think it is gorgeous in Statesboro because there is green all year round and sunshine as well! It is interesting living in different places and learning what others have to say about them.

    • smcclou3 said,

      Everyday I think about it, trying to scheme my way back. Ohio, I’m people ask you all the time how you ended up at Southern? Do you think that we tend to like the places we don’t come from more than the places we do? Hula is great, last weekend was the Merrie Monarch festival, some call it the Olympics of hula. It was definitely a marathon that kicked my butt, trying to stay awake in two time zones ridiculously far apart. But, it was so worth it; my favorite halau (school) won everything!

  6. My Blog Comments- 3711 « Lauren's PR Blog for Beginners said,

    […] “Hula and Interning..A Lot More in Common Than You Would Expect” by Shannon […]

  7. allisonallmond said,

    Hey Shannon! I’m glad to hear that you like your internship, but I’m sorry you’re not enjoying Atlanta. Not that I blame you! I’m from Savannah and I think I would go nuts if I had to live without the river and the beach. I think it’s really cool that you went to Hawaii for vacation and picked up a new hobby; especially a hobby that is so “Hawaii” like hula. I also like how you’ve learned such important life lessons from studying your new craft. The hula proverb you gave was pretty great advice. I’m impressed by how you were able to apply hula to your schoolwork and to your life. Great job!

Leave a Reply

